Barb’s Writer Friends: Barbara Donlon Bradley

Today I welcome author Barbara Donlon Bradley to share a little about herself and her new release TIMELESS DESIRE. First Barbara answers my five quick questions:

Someone just gave you the best compliment ever.  What was it?

I was in my thirties and got carded at a convenience store when I was buying beer. That hadn’t happened in a long time. And the best part? My sister, who is 5 and ½ years younger than me wasn’t carded.  That was a great day.  (Tee hee. I love it.)

You have no choice but to live your life from now on as one of your characters.  Which character is it and why?

Oh that is easy – I’d love to be Heather, my character from my Vespian Way series. She’s smart, strong and one of my favorite characters.

You can never write another work of fiction.  What will you do instead?

I don’t know. Writing is a passion for me. I think I would cry a bit then maybe work on doing banners and taking classes on creating webpages. I’m creative – I took art classes in high school and college so I know I’d have to do something creative.

You get a month off from your regular personal life and writing routine. How will you spend it?  Feel free to elaborate.

Traveling – I would love to travel. I was a navy brat so I’d like to go back to some of the places I’ve lived like New Orleans, San Diego, and NYC. I’d also love to go to Ireland since that’s where my ancestors are from.

You get one do-over from your life so far.  What is it?

I’d probably start writing professionally at a younger age.

Name one person who has either influenced you the most or you learned the most from and why.

Felicia Mason – she is a wonderful writer and was a very active member of my writing group when I was learning the craft. One time she was having trouble writing a book and she shared what she did to get the book done. Write for fifteen minutes a day. Even if all you do is write a few words do it. It has helped me when I didn’t feel like writing or was having trouble putting words to paper.

TIMELESS DESIRE Blurb:

Someone keeps altering the timeline and only Sam and Skye are aware of the change. The culprit doesn’t want Heather and Storm together, yet they keep finding each other, no matter how many times it is changed. Everything needs to be righted and the person messing with it needs to be stopped. It’s up to Sam and Skye to get things back the way it should be.TimelessDesire-LG

 TIMELESS DESIRE Excerpt:

Their ship landed in the cave they used as their tarmac. Fridon stepped up to them the moment they disembarked.

“Reasta has attacked another one of our posts.” He led them to the main computer room, where everything that had been going on was up and viewable. “We keep moving them and she keeps finding them.”

“How many people have we lost?” asked Heather as she studied the data.

“Five so far.”

Heather swore under her breath. She hated losing their soldiers. “And her people are still attacking?”

“Yes, we can’t stop them.”

Heather turned to Bert. “I’m sorry, but you’re sort of trapped here until we can stop her.”

“Then let me see what I can do to help you end this.”

“Thank you.” Heather turned to her mate. “Storm, each person we lose – ”

****

“What the hell?” Skye ran his hands over the control panel, trying to get a response. Any response. All the power in the ship went out for a second before it powered back up. Now everything worked fine. He wondered what caused that.

“That was odd.” Sam ran a few tests. She looked at him. “Everything seems to be fine now.”

Skye slowed their ship down as they got close to Vespian space. Protocol needed to be followed and he knew who would be the one yelling at him if he didn’t follow it. He sent the proper message and waited for clearance. They’d figure out what happened to the ship once they landed. “I wish I knew what caused that. I’ve never had any trouble with this ship before.”

“We’ll check with Bert once we’re through.” Sam sat in the copilot seat. She pressed a few buttons and cupped her ear. “Skye, security is contacting us.”

“That’s odd.” He activated the communication system. “This is Skye Latimer.”

“What is the purpose for your visit?”

“Purpose?” He looked at Sam. Why were they asking that? “We’re returning home.”

“We have no record of your citizenship.” And they cut the line.

“What are they talking about? Sam leaned forward. “I’ll get them back.”

“Wait.” He reached out and took her hand in his. “I don’t want to end up in a jail while we try to figure out what happened. Let’s leave like we’re supposed to, and once we’re out of their radar, we’ll come back and use the ship’s cloaking device to go to Bert’s ship. He’ll have the answers for us.” 

Bio: Barbara Donlon Bradley’s writing started innocently enough, she kept diaries, journals, and wrote an occasional letter but her vivid imagination had her writing scenes and short stories, adding characters to her favorite shows and comic books. As time went on the passion for writing became too strong to ignore. Humor dominates her life. Writing something deep and dark, will never happen. That humor bleeds into her writing. Since she can’t beat it she’s learned to use it to her advantage. Now she lives in Tidewater Virginia with two cats, one mother in law – whose 88 now, her husband and son.

Find Barbara Donlon Bradley on the web:

Author Sites:

Website: http://www.barbaradonlonbradley.com/

Publisher: http://www.phaze.com/author.php?author=21

Blog: http://barbaradonlonbradley.blogspot.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Barbara-Donlon-Bradley/118673448173249

Twitter: https://twitter.com/barbbradley

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/barbaradbradley/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/7773192-barbara-bradley

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B0072OTZJE

B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/s/Barbara-donlon-bradley

ARe:http://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?searchBy=author&qString=Barbara+Donlon+Bradley

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/Search?Query=Barbara%20Donlon%20Bradley

Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/search/books?Keywords=barbara%20donlon%20bradley

Thanks for joining me and sharing your book, Barbara!

 

One thought on “Barb’s Writer Friends: Barbara Donlon Bradley”

Leave a Reply

