About those Smoothies

2015-02-06 22.14.14Remember the juicing craze?  Maybe it’s still going on.  I watched Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead on youTube after my brother mentioned it over a year ago.  The dietary suggestions made a lot of sense to me.  Juicing?  Well, I couldn’t really afford an expensive juicer.  I didn’t see the difference between just eating the fruits and vegetables instead of drinking the juice made from them.  Nutritionally equivalent, right?

Juicing is a fad like anything else (another reason I didn’t buy a juicer).  Would I really use it?  Where would I store it?  I know myself well enough to know I’m not likely to deal with taking it apart and putting it together for long.  But that’s what started me on smoothies.

I have a blender.  It’s old but it still works (much like me).  What’s the difference, really between juicing the same exact fruits and vegetables or blending them together and drinking them?  I’m not a nutritionist, so I don’t know the answer to that, but as a lay person who needs to consume more healthy foods, it seems like there isn’t a difference.

I have a habit of buying fruit with the best of intentions of eating it, but I tend not to eat it.  Then it gets soft and sometimes I forget I even bought it and I end up throwing it out (money down the drain!).  How easy, however, to throw it all in a blender and make a smoothie out of it.  I don’t peel it unless it’s necessary, like citrus or melon.

Today I had a banana-tangelo-apple smoothie.  A whole banana, a whole tangelo (because they were cheap…so are bananas) and half a Golden Delicious apple + water and ice.  Two and a half servings of fruit in a glass.  Breakfast.  Takes about five minutes to make.20140920_103044

Rinse out the blender.  You’re done.  I found fat smoothie straws at Winn-Dixie.  A little treat to myself.

I originally wrote the above on 1/5/15.

At the moment I’m sipping a banana, apple, cranberry smoothie. My husband is grossed out by my smoothies probably because he prefers his fruit in its original form.  But I have fruit issues.

I have sensitive teeth and since most fruit is refrigerated I don’t enjoy eating it cold.  I also have a lot of spaces between my teeth where the bits of peel get caught and drive me crazy.  Bananas, by the way, are the perfect fruit.  They are best eaten at room temperature, they don’t require refrigeration, come in their own bio-degradable container and they’re cheap.  If they get too ripe…throw them into a smoothie.  They go with just about every other kind of fruit.

The only thing I add to the fruit in the blender is water.  Chop.  Puree. Blend.  Done.  You’ve had a significant portion of the supposed daily requirement for fruit and fiber.

I bought bags of fresh cranberries on sale over the holidays and threw them in the freezer.  If I see frozen or fresh blueberries on sale, same goes.  Any fruit that’s on its last legs can be blended instead of wasted.  Of course, you can throw veggies in a smoothie, too.

Update on my New Year’s goal:  I’m still walking/jogging at least five days a week 2 1/2 to 4 miles. Sometimes I alternate with bicycling 6 or so miles.  I’ve maybe lost two pounds.  But two pounds a month = potentially 24 pounds in a year.  I could try harder with my diet.  But weight loss is my secondary goal.  Being healthy is number one.2014-11-03 22.10.41

Leave a Reply

