The Pefect Day

Every once in awhile God gives you a perfect day. While all of God’s days are perfect, all of yours (possibly) and mine are not. But once in awhile I at least have that feeling like I’m having a perfect day. I’m sure it’s more about my own attitude than it is about anything else, but I wallow in my sense of blessedness and well-being so don’t ruin it for me.

I doubt your perfect day would begin with a trip to the dentist. Mine didn’t either. I had coffee first and a bowl of oatmeal with brown sugar and apples. Consumed while I played Bejeweled Blitz on Facebook. I am exceptionally bad at Bejeweled Blitz. Luckily I don’t care about my score. I love the mindlessness of it. The time it gives me to sit and vegetate and think. Plus I absolutely love eating while I’m playing it. I don’t know why. I just do. I don’t overly question it.

Every six months I go and get my perfect teeth cleaned. My teeth aren’t perfect, exactly, but they’re all mine and I’ve never had a cavity. I do, however, according to the dentist and hygienist, grind my teeth. I’ve gone back to wearing my nightguard even though it drives me crazy. At least I don’t wake up with a head and neck ache in the morning. If indeed, that’s what was causing my head and neck to ache. The hygienist says yes it might have been. The guard the dentist can make for you costs $1100. Insurance won’t pay for it. Neither will I. I’m told when I grind my teeth, my teeth are looking for stability. If that isn’t a metaphor for my life, I don’t know what is. I’m happy when I’m told I’m maintaining, however, which means the gums holding onto my perfect teeth with their short roots have not deteriorated since last time I was there. Woo-hoo!

Since the dentist’s office is close to the beach I’ve decided to walk the beach after my appointment. If, that is, I can find a parking place. Update for the area: Even though Easter was last weekend, the tourists and seasonal residents have not migrated back to their home bases as of yet. But I locate a parking place in the beach parking garage and off I go. It’s a beautiful day. I’ve brought my notepad along in case I have any brilliant writerly thoughts I need to jot down while I’m walking. (I don’t.) The beach is crowded, but mostly people are sitting. Only a few are in the water or walking along the shore like me.

On the way home I decide to stop at the grocery store for something quick for dinner later. Then, because it’s also near the dentist’s office, (and because it’s also part of my divine plan for the day) I stop by Chipotle for lunch. I chow down on a few bites of my chicken burrito bowl before I leave the parking lot. The rest I enjoy once I get home and chase my husband off the computer so I can eat while I play Bejeweled Blitz.

Next I go upstairs and work on The First Time Again, which is the third book in The Braddock Brotherhood series from Samhain Publishing. My editor has made some wonderful suggestions and it’s my job to incorporate them into the revised manuscript. I light a candle and open up a big Hershey’s chocolate almond bar to nibble on while I write.

After I finish the scene I’m working on it’s time for a nap. First I read a little bit, but before long I’m out. I wake up and it’s after four o’clock. I’m pretty sure my Chipotle breath is detectable from a mile away, although my husband says he can’t smell it (from the other room) so maybe it isn’t as bad as I think it is. I’m drinking ice water and I’m ready for some more Facebook game time. In a little while I’ll have to hit the shower.

Later I’m going to Fred’s for open mic singer/songwriter night where my friend Carlene will literally be singing our song(s).

Put together all those enjoyable little things and there you have it. The perfect day.

Visit me at http://www.barbmeyers.com
Follow me on Twitter @barbmeyers
or follow my fantasy-writing alter ego @ajtillock

Leave a Reply

