Myspace, Facebook and Twitter

I just figured out my problem with Myspace, Twitter and Facebook.  They’re B-O-R-I-N-G.  To me, that is.  Others obviously feel differently.

 Yep, I’m on all three.  I had good intentions when I started.  With Myspace, I thought it’d be a good way to connect with writers and readers.  Can’t say I’ve done that.  Most of my “friends” are people I know.  Some that I see every day, in fact.  I enjoyed blogging on there occasionally, and I especially enjoyed the opportunity to share what books I was reading whenever I blogged.  But then, I got sort of bored with it or felt it was too time consuming or whatever and Facebook seemed the place to be.   I can’t recall the last time I logged into Myspace.

 So with help from someone more computer savvy than me, I joined the Facebook crowd.  I struggled with the format but finally got the hang of it mostly.  But now?  I’m bored.  I log on and read what my friends have posted and mostly I think, who cares?  If you took a quiz, so what?  If you scored high on some video or computer game, whoop-de-do.  This is what you do all day?  Play video games and post your scores on Facebook?  Seriously?  I posted a too long post for saying I didn’t think any of us were all that fascinating and got mildly chastised for that.

Don’t even get me started on Twitter.  I don’t get it.  People are following me?  Why?  What’s the point?  I don’t do anything that other people are going to find all that interesting.  You want to send me a message?  Call me or e-mail me.  When did that become too much trouble for everyone?  Did we all of a sudden get really lazy?  Or are our thumbs so exhausted from texting we can’t dial a phone or use a computer keyboard any more?  I won’t get into how long it takes me to send the simplest of text messages via cell phone.  Let’s just say voting for my favorite American Idol would have been a challenge for me.

What I do in my day-to-day life interests me, but I doubt it would fascinate anyone else.  I think that’s how most of us are.  We only truly care about our own lives.  And that’s okay.  But I had this idea that “tell us what you’re doing” meant I had to be honest.  “Um, I’m sitting here drinking coffee trying to wake up so I can go to work.”  That’d be what I’d post just about every morning if I were honest.  Tell me that isn’t boring.  I know it is.

All these celebrities on Twitter?  I don’t care about them and I can’t keep up with their screwed up lives anyway.  I can’t keep up with the people I know on Twitter.  I’m too old to be taught how to make sense of it.

The social networks remind me of the people who must have their cell phones attached to their bodies at all times.  On the toilet, on the golf course, in line at Starbucks.  Like, yeah.  You’re that important and the outside world must be able to reach you 24/7.  Please.  I can go days without using my cell phone.  They probably could too if they had the guts to disconnect it from their belt buckle.

I think this is what’s at the root of my disinterest in these social networks.  It’s this sense of self-aggrandizement we all have.  Look at me, listen to me.  I’m fascinating!  No.  You’re not.  Neither am I.  Trying to pretend I am is stressing me out and making me wonder what’s wrong with me that I don’t have anything going on that I think is interesting enough to share.

The social networking sights can do without me.  Someone more scintillating and sparkling can take my spot while I do what interests me.  I no longer feel compelled to share every tidbit of my existence with the rest of the world.

Leave a Reply

