Everybody’s an Expert

Every time I watch Oprah I get pissed off.  Not necessarily about her or because of her.  Mostly, it’s about her guests, the guests she chooses for her show.

 

Today, she had the comic Steve Harvey on to talk about his relationship advice book, which I am sure is on the bestseller list, though I haven’t checked.  Here’s what pissed me off.  He is saying exactly the same thing I ranted on in my  myspace blog months ago.  How women should demand respect, that they hold the power, that they give it away, that men could be at their mercy if they so chose, yadayadayada.

 

Here’s what pisses me off.  Women, these same stupid women that I ranted about in my blog, are taking relationship advice from a stand-up comic!  And it looked like, based on the audience questions, even though he put a humorous spin on everything he said, they take his advice seriously!  So did Oprah and Gayle, ga-ga as usual over any attractive black man who sits next to them on stage. 

 

He’s an entertainer, ladies, just trying to make a buck like the rest of us.

 

I will give him credit for his response to one woman’s question which was to follow her intuition.  (Duh.  Thanks for suggesting that, Steve.  I bet she never would have thought of that on her own.)  But still, who the hell is Steve Harvey to be giving relationship advice?  What makes him so qualified?  At least Yakov Smirnoff has a master’s degree in applied positive psychology.

 

I’ll tell you what makes Steve Harvey more qualified to give relationship advice than, say for example, someone like me.  He’s already famous.  He’s already built a successful career in comedy.  He has a following, and his fans will follow him to the bookstore and buy his book, not caring that he doesn’t know any more than they do about relationships. 

 

So that’s all I have to do.  I have to make a name for myself in one area.  Writing romantic fiction, maybe.  I can then translate that into any other area that interests me and my legion of fans will blindly follow me there.

 

There’s just one thing that concerns me.  How many of them will take advice from a certified Starbucks barista who’s a legend in her own mind?  I guess we’ll find out.

 

Watch for future blogs featuring Dr. Barb, an admittedly amateur psychologist who wants only to impart her tiny grains of wisdom and common sense, gleaned over a lifetime to the relationship-challenged everywhere.

One thought on “Everybody’s an Expert”

  1. Some while ago I wrote a self-help book for mums telling them how to cope with the shift from high-flying career to stay at home mum. Been there, done that, had the experience, drawn on the experience of my contemporaries and basically knew my subject backwards.

    The agent loved it and tried to place it but one of the big reasons the publishers didn’t want it was because I wasn’t famous. They wanted a famous stay at home mum (do they exist?) Or they wanted a famous mum (who continues her career and uses nannies) or the wife of a famous celebrity (who also has the money for nannies)

    How can these people speak from experience on this particular topic and why does being famous automatically qualify you to give advice to people beyond your area of expertise?

    If a famous actress gave me advice on acting technique I’d listen but if she wrote a book about full time parenting when she was off on location 4 months a year, doesn’t that make a nonsense of the whole thing?

    Laura Essendine
    The Accidental Guru Blog

    Like

Leave a Reply

